KCR’s dynamic leadership made 24-hr power supply possible: TSTRANSCO CMD


Telangana, April 5 (NSS): TSGENCO & TSTRANSCO CMD D. Prabhakar Rao has said under the dynamic leadership of Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao and with the unstinted support from the State government, we were able to give 24-hour power supply to 23 lakh agriculture pump sets in the State for the first time in the history from January 1, 2018. This was possible due to close monitoring with precise planning on day-to-day basis and concerted efforts of all the employees, he said, adding that Telangana was the only State in the Country to achieve this distinction to end the despair of farmers.
The TSGENCO & TSTRANSCO CMD was speaking after paying floral tributes on the occasion of the birth anniversary of former Deputy Prime Minister Dr Babu Jagjivan Ram at Vidyut Soudha here on Thursday. He said that to make the State self- sufficient in power, TSGENCO started projects of 5880 MW capacity at Manuguru (4×270 MW), Kothagudem (1×800 MW) and Dameracherla (5×800 MW) with an investment of Rs 37,938 crore. The initiative of the KCR government to develop power through public sector has received appreciation from all over the country.
Prabhakar Rao said the State grid has met a peak demand of 10,284 MW on March 8, 2018 which is an all-time record in the Telangana power sector. Transmission and Distribution System is fully geared up to meet the load up to 11000 MW in the coming seasons and to meet this target, Rs 12,136 crore was invested for strengthening Transmission and Distribution system, he  added. He also said the government’s major initiative in promoting Green Power through proclamation of “Telangana State Solar Policy – 2015” was appreciated as the best in the country. Solar capacity at the time of the State formation was 30 MW only. But now, Telangana has got the highest installed solar capacity of 3,220 MW and stands number one in the county.
TSTransco JMD C. Srinivasa Rao, directors G. Narsing Rao, T. Jagath Reddy, J. Surya Prakash, TSGENCO directors M. Sachidanandam, Ch. Venkata Rajam, S. Ashok Kumar and Lalith Kumar were present at the Dr Babu Jagjivan Ram Birth Anniversary celebrations. (NSS)