Lake Protection Committee for Warangal constituted


Hyderabad, April.9 (NSS): The State government today issued orders constituting Lake Protection Committees for conservation and protection of lakes within the Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation area under KUDA on the similar lines of HMDA.

Principal Secretary of Municipal Administration Department Arvind Kumar issued the orders on Monday. The functions of the Lake Protection Committees are: Listing of all lakes along with their FTL in GWMC area within KUDA; Wide publicity and awareness campaign for protection of the lakes; to prepare action plan for de-silting the lakes and inflow channels and such other measures required for maintenance or cleaning of the inflow channels into the lakes and issue instructions / guidelines to the concerned agencies for implementation of the action plan.

Removal of existing encroachments in the FTL and foreshore areas; To clearly demarcate the lakes up to FTL by raising bunds along FTL and arrange watch and ward for preventing future encroachments and misuse of the lake environment; To workout and suggest modalities for regulation and rehabilitation of existing activities/structures; To do such other things as may be incidental or conducive to the efficient administration for protection and improvement of the lakes and their catchments.

The following are the members of the Lake Protection Committee: Commissioner, Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation Member-Convener. Kakatiya Urban Development Authority Vice-Chairman, Warangal Commissioner of Police, District Collector, Warangal (Urban); District Collector, Warangal (Rural); District Collector, Jangaon District; District Industrial Centre General Manager, Warangal Environmental Engineer, District Panchayat Officer, Warangal (Urban) TSPCB; District Panchayat Officer, Warangal (Rural); Executive Engineer, Irrigation Department; Regional Deputy Director of Town Planning, Warangal Region, District Forest Officer, Warangal (Urban) AND District Forest Officer, Warangal (Rural) are Members. (NSS)