At the ITF AGM in Orlando on Thursday, members voted in favour of the proposed overhaul of the 118-year-old Davis Cup format. From 2019, the men’s national team competition will undergo a change. The change will not only see participants change but also how the matches and ties are conducted.

Davis Cup Qualifying Round (February 2019)

Teams: 24

12 teams placed 5-16th in 2018 finals event + 12 Group 1 winners (6 Euro/Africa, 3 Asia/Oceania, 3 Americas)

Format: Home and away

Winners: 12 winners go straight to Finals in November

Losers: Relegated to Group I with ties to be played in either April/September

Davis Cup Finals Round (November 2019)

Teams: 18

– 4 previous year’s semifinalists (France, Spain, Croatia, USA)

+ 12 qualifying teams from February

+ 2 wild cards

Date: November 18-24, 2019

Venue: Madrid or Lille

Tie format: 2 singles + 1 doubles (best of 3 sets)

Format: Round Robin with 6 groups of 3 teams (Monday-Thursday)

Next Round (Quarterfinals on Friday): 6 group winners + two best 2nd placed teams

Next Round (Semifinals on Saturday): Four winning teams qualify automatically for 2020

Next Round (Final on Sunday): To crown first champions