Bengaluru: Voting is under way on Saturday in 222 of the 224 constituencies in Karnataka and it will go on till 6 p.m.

Faulty electronic voting machines (EVMs), VVPAT-mismatch, technical glitches disrupted polling in several parts of the State, but that didn’t deter voters from casting their ballot. Despite Friday night rains, voters turn out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

While the Congress is seeking a second term, the BJP is aiming to firm up its label as a pan-Indian party by winning the election. The Janata Dal (Secular) is contesting in alliance with the BSP and the AIMIM.

Election in the R.R. Nagar constituency in Bengaluru has been postponed following the seizure of over 9,000 voter ID cards. Election in Jayanagar in the city has also been countermanded following the demise of BJP candidate and sitting MLA Vijay Kumar.